Follow

How do I check out a file in the CMS?

The checked out/in icon, represented by a lightbulb, reflects the state of a page or file. When you edit a page by clicking on an editable region button, or click to a page from a list view, the page is automatically checked out to you. When you publish a page it is automatically checked back in

When a page or file is checked out to a user, no other users can enter the pages and make changes until the file has been checked back in. The Web Team can override this and manually check pages back in that are checked out, and doing so will cancel any unsaved changes to the page.

Status icons indicate the check-in state of the files in the CMS

   A lit light bulb indicates a page is checked out to you.

   A red lock indicates the page is checked out to another user.

  An unlit light bulb indicates the file is checked in and available to be checked out.

How to check out a file

You can do this one of two ways. One method is not better than the other, both will do the same thing.

  1. From the site view, you can click the lightbulb and then click into the page:checkout.PNG

  2. Or, you can click into the page and click the lightbulb at the top of the page, to the left of the green publish button:

checkout2.PNG

 

Was this article helpful? 0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a Support Ticket